Multitasking Mom

Standard

When I was away on the left coast last week, I was out late in the evenings (talking about research, of course–what else does one do at conferences other than work?), up early (thanks to my routine-addled body, and because of course I wanted to do some work!), taking long runs (to think about my research!), and I was never, never, never tired. Miracle? Or just a case of not-momming?

(While I was gone, The Scientist, poor, poor man, was up late and early too, and everywhere in between, only rather than dealing with drinks, old friends, new friends, wonderful discussions, brilliant talks, and a bit of pool time, The Scientist was dealing with puke–the milky kind, the chunky kind, the now-we-have-wash-everything-we-own kind, the projectile-directly-into-dad’s-mouth kind. He was exhausted. Sorry, husband! But you do know I was working the whole time, right? If not, see above!).

Working outside of the home, working inside of the home, mothers are always too busy. One of my favorite email forwards ever (and rarely do I actually enjoy email forwards!) is the Mom Song, to the tune of the William Tell Overture–

Ah, momhood. Busy, busy, busy. So tiring. And while I couldn’t say working moms are necessarily busier (after all, we get a break from some of the busy momhood activities), there are definitely times when the two different kinds of busynesses of work and home smash into each other.  Such was the case for me this weekend, after I returned the conference, which (career related though it was) actually put me behind on the job front, which in turn brought my work into my weekend–when I should just be momming.

So, I decided, it was high time to cut down on my busyness and exhaustion and be a little French about it. What does Pamela Druckerman say in her book, Bringing up Bébé?–Yes: “French parents are very concerned about their kids. . . . They take reasonable precautions. But they aren’t panicked about their children’s well being.”

And the result? Druckerman tells us “French kids aren’t just more independent in their extracurricular activities. They also have more autonomy in their dealings with each other.”

Notes to self: Reasonable. Independence. Autonomy. No problem. I wasn’t going anywhere but my laptop–that is a reasonable precaution, to be home but set the kids free. The baby certainly needs independence in extracurricular activities. Why not toilet training? The big kids could learn autonomy in their dealing with each other by being left alone to do their own thing, and while I was teaching the kids all these crucial lessons (and therefore momming, really), I could have a little more time to do the things I needed to do.

So, yesterday morning, when The Scientist left to go play a little baseball (one feels one has to grant one’s husband who has done all the parenting for the last week or so a little playtime), I let go. I didn’t tell the kids what they could or could not do. I gave them, instead, a sense of independence and responsibility. And this was good for everyone–I could run a couple of loads of laundry while grading student papers, and the kids could have unstructured time. If I say so myself, I felt I was doing a great job of bringing up bébés and making working momhood really workable.

The result, you wonder? SUCCESS!! LL and Cool J played several rounds of Mille Bornes (see how French we are?), then went to work on putting together Baby MoFo’s new Cozy Coupe; Baby MoFo took off his clothes and diaper and found a green magic marker to occupy himself. And after the naked/marker fallout, Cool J dutifully grabbed himself a whole bunch of wipes (which handily were on the floor since Baby MoFo took them out, one at a time, until the box was empty, and then he filled the box with marshmallows. Such creativity!), cleaned all the pee off the floor (but I’m sure next time Baby MoFo will know where to go when he has the urge!), and LL took another bunch of wipes and began removing Baby MoFo’s self-engraved tattoos. Win-win-win!

3 responses »

  1. have you thought about linking up with yeahwrite? can’t remember the url but it’s a great way to meet people (ie, new bloggers), read some great writing, leave some comments, get some comments back. might be fun.

Leave a Reply

